September 13, 2007

quirks about law school

i am finishing up my 3rd week at school
and i've noticed several things...

1) Law students are alcoholics. Every day there is some email about meeting at some bar and socializing. After a full day of work, and then going to school, and then with work again the next day, socializing is the last thing on my mind. Stop drinking like fish. And stop spamming my inbox.

2) Law students somehow manage to find time to join organizations. The student government body just held elections and people were campaigning and running for office. Dude. Don't you have work? Don't you have families? Don't you have pages and pages to read? Where do you find time for this? I don't get it.

3) Ace the final. Or else. It seems most classes (at least for my Torts and Criminal Law class) are comprised of only one grade -- the final exam. It's an all-or-nothing deal here. I miss the good ol' days where you've got homework grades as buffer...

4) You won't tell me my grade?!? The professor for my LAWR (Legal Analysis, Writing and Research) class announced yesterday that there will be 3 research paper assignments. And the grades from these papers will not be disclosed to us until grades are submitted at the end of the semester. Ok. Now why are you going to do this to us? How will I know how much to improve if you won't tell me my grade?

5) Speeding. Basically I can't. Anymore. Because if I do, I might get a ticket. Which I will have to report to the Dean. So after a long day of work and school, I literally use cruise control when driving home to make sure I don't speed (at least not speeding 10 mph above the speed limit...isn't that the unsaid rule? Something like going 15 mph over is considered reckless driving?)

That's it for now...I'm sure I'll find more things to whine about later...

4 comments:

Snow Bunny said...

Re: drinking like a fish. Well, based on items 2-4, I totally understand! And then because of 1 (which is because of 2-4), you have #5. So, join in the alcoholic fun!

Cadd said...

1. I think most students are.
2. Hey, you gotta remember, some of these people are in school full-time and not working.
3. That really sucks! I wouldn't be able to make it. Is it like this in all classes or just the particular classes you're taking?
4. What's the professor's logic on this? It doesn't make sense
5. You shouldn't be speeding anyway!!!

VVN said...

i don't know...i just feel like i don't have time for anything...
so right now, socializing is still a low priority...maybe when the workload has lightened up...

as for #3, i think that's the way it is for all classes...

#5...i have a lead foot..what can i say? it's a tarrible sickness...

IthinkI'mFunnyGuy said...

FYI
stomach hurts..

can't read blog....
too much words..

hurts all so bad...

Copy is about to pass out
from diarrhea